Current Scholarship
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowOnline resource for articles on colleges and universities. The Chronicle includes professional advice, special reports on hot topics, and a job search tool. Users need to sign in with their campus email to access this resource off-campus.
DEI
Building Equity: Policies and Practices to Empower All Learners by
Built on the authors' own experiences and those of hundreds of educators throughout the United States, this book is filled with examples of policy initiatives and practices that support high-quality, inclusive learning experiences and deliver education that meets critical standards of equality and equity.
ISBN: 9781416624264Publication Date: 2017-07-25
Culturally Responsive Strategies for Reforming STEM Higher Education: Turning the TIDES on Inequity by
This book uses the power of reflection, storytelling, and data to holistically demonstrate the effectiveness of a novel professional development intervention for STEM faculty - Teaching to Increase Diversity and Equity in STEM, or TIDES - that significantly increased faculty self-efficacy in implementing culturally responsive pedagogies. In it, the editors combine the authentic voices of authors from multiple institutional contexts and individual worldviews to assimilate and synthesize broad theoretical concepts into practice in usable ways, while also offering concrete applicable examples of strategies and solutions that serve as an important comprehensive reference for all undergraduate educators and administrators. This practical guide provides a durable platform for building capacity in understanding of the cultural complexities and institutional realities of recruiting and retaining diverse students in STEM, particularly the computer sciences.
ISBN: 9781787434066Publication Date: 2019-01-14
Disrupting Poverty: Five Powerful Classroom Practices by
Drawing upon decades of research and myriad authentic classroom experiences, Kathleen M. Budge and William H. Parrett dispel harmful myths, explain the facts, and urge educators to act against the debilitating effects of poverty on their students. They share the powerful voices of teachers—many of whom grew up in poverty—to amplify the five classroom practices that permeate the culture of successful high-poverty schools: (1) caring relationships and advocacy, (2) high expectations and support, (3) commitment to equity, (4) professional accountability for learning, and (5) the courage and will to act. Readers will explore classroom-tested strategies and practices, plus online templates and exercises that can be used for personal reflection or ongoing collaboration with colleagues. Disrupting Poverty provides teachers, administrators, coaches, and others with the background information and the practical tools needed to help students break free from the cycle of poverty.
ISBN: 9781416625278Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Diversifying Digital Learning: Online Literacy and Educational Opportunity by
Diversifying Digital Learning outlines the pervasive problems that exist with ensuring digital equity and identifies successful strategies to tackle the issue. Bringing together top scholars to discuss how digital equity in education might become a key goal in American education, this book is structured to provide a framework for understanding how historically underrepresented students most effectively engage with technology—and how institutions may help or hinder students'ability to develop and capitalize on digital literacies.This book will appeal to readers who are well versed in the diverse uses of social media and technologies, as well as less technologically savvy educators and policy analysts in educational organizations such as schools, after school programs, colleges, and universities. Addressing the intersection of digital media, race/ethnicity, and socioeconomic class in a frank manner, the lessons within this compelling work will help educators enable students in grades K–12, as well as in post-secondary institutions, to participate in a rapidly changing world framed by shifting new media technologies.
ISBN: 9781421424354Publication Date: 2018-02-01
Engaging African American Males in Community College by
The book offers three approaches to understanding the engagement of African American males in community college, which includes empirical research, policy perspectives and programmatic initiatives.
ISBN: 9781641132275Publication Date: 2018-07-01
Geeky Pedagogy: A Guide for Intellectuals, Introverts, and Nerds Who Want to Be Effective Teachers by
Geeky Pedagogy is a funny, evidence-based, multidisciplinary, pragmatic, highly readable guide to the process of learning and relearning how to be an effective college teacher. It is the first college teaching guide that encourages faculty to embrace their inner nerd, inviting readers to view themselves and their teaching work in light of contemporary discourse that celebrates increasingly diverse geek culture and explores stereotypes about super-smart introverts. Geeky Pedagogy avoids the excessive jargon, humorlessness, and endless proscriptions that plague much published advice about teaching. Neuhaus is aware of how embodied identity and employment status shape one's teaching context, and she eschews formulaic depictions of idealized exemplar teaching, instead inviting readers to join her in an engaging, critically reflective conversation about the vicissitudes of teaching and learning in higher education as a geek, introvert, or nerd. Written for the wonks and eggheads who want to translate their vast scholarly expertise into authentic student learning, Geeky Pedagogy is packed with practical advice and encouragement for increasing readers' pedagogical knowledge.
ISBN: 9781949199055Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Overcoming Educational Racism in the Community College: Creating Pathways to Success for Minority and Impoverished Student Populations by
Overall, nearly half of all incoming community college students “drop-out” within twelve months of enrolling, with students of color and the economically disadvantaged faring far worse. Given the high proportion of underserved students these colleges enroll, the detrimental impact on their communities, and for the national economy as a whole at a time of diversifying demographics, is enormous. This book addresses this urgent issue by bringing together nationally recognized researchers whose work throws light on the structural and systemic causes of student attrition, as well as college presidents and leaders who have successfully implemented strategies to improve student outcomes.The book is divided into five sections, each devoted to a demographic group: African Americans, Native Americans/American Indians, Latino Americans, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and Caucasian students in poverty. Each section in turn comprises three chapters, the first providing an up-to-date summary of research findings about barriers and attainments pertaining to the corresponding population, the second the views of a community college president, and the final chapter offering a range of models and best practices for achieving student success.The analyses--descriptions of cutting edge programs--and recommendations for action will commend this volume to everyone concerned about equity and completion rates in the community college sector, from presidents and senior administrators through faculty and student affairs leaders.
ISBN: 9781620363478Publication Date: 2016-11-11
Promoting Social Justice Through the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by
How can education become a transformative experience for all learners and teachers? The contributors to this volume contend that the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) can provide a strong foundation for the role of education in promoting social justice. The collection features contributions by an array of educators and scholars, highlighting the various ways that learners and teachers can prepare for and engage with social justice concerns. The essays offer reflections on the value of SoTL in relation to educational ethics, marginalized groups, community service and activism, counter narratives, and a range of classroom practices. Although the contributors work in a variety of disciplines and employ different theoretical frameworks, they are united by the conviction that education should improve our lives by promoting equity and social justice.
ISBN: 9780253029645Publication Date: 2017-10-02
Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone: Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education by
Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone is aimed at faculty members, faculty-service staff, disability support providers, student-service staff, campus leaders, and graduate students who want to strengthen the engagement, interaction, and performance of all college students. It includes resources for readers who want to become Universal Design for Learning experts and advocates: real-world case studies, active-learning techniques, UDL coaching skills, micro and macro-level UDL-adoption guidance, and use-them now resources.
ISBN: 1946684600Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Strategies for Fostering Inclusive Classrooms in Higher Education: International Perspectives on Equity and Inclusion by
Higher education institutions continue to address an increasingly complex set of issues regarding equity, diversity and inclusion. Many institutions face mounting pressure to find innovative solutions to eliminate access, participation, and achievement barriers as well as practices that impede retention and graduation rates in higher education. This volume provides educators with a global understanding of the challenges associated with the growing diversity of student identities in higher education and provides evidence-based strategies for addressing the challenges associated with implementing equity and inclusion at different higher education institutions around the world.
ISBN: 9781787560611Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Blackballed: The Black and White Politics of Race on America's Campuses by Call Number: LC212.42 .R67 2016 (General Collection)ISBN: 9781250079114Publication Date: 2016-02-02A bold mix of history and the current climate, Blackballed is a call to action for universities to make radical changes to their policies and standards to foster a better legacy for all students.
Integrated but Unequal: Black Faculty in Predominantly White Space by Call Number: LC2781.5 .I58 2012 (Faculty Professional Development)ISBN: 9781592218684Publication Date: 2011-12-01This collection of scholarly articles on the experiences of faculty of color at predominately white institutions (PWI) of higher learning is profound in its truth-telling about the challenges and triumphs of these experiences.
Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America by Call Number: E185.61 .K358 2016 (Faculty Professional Development)ISBN: 9781568584638Publication Date: 2016-04-12As Kendi shows, racist ideas did not arise from ignorance or hatred. They were created to justify and rationalize deeply entrenched discriminatory policies and the nation's racial inequities. In shedding light on this history, Stamped from the Beginning offers us the tools we need to expose racist thinking. In the process, he gives us reason to hope.
White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism by Call Number: HT1521 .D486 2018 (Faculty Professional Development)ISBN: 9780807047415Publication Date: 2018-06-26In this in-depth exploration, DiAngelo explores how white fragility develops, how it protects racial inequality, and what we can do to engage more constructively.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
In order to access the full content of The Chronicle of Higher Education, you will need to create a user account using your Cleveland State email. Please note that newer articles appear at the top of this list.
Other
- Learning with and from Our Students: The Need for Humility in Race and Equity Work This point of view paper explores the power of words to build respect and understanding around issues of diversity, equity and inclusion. As instructors in our courses who work to build self-awareness and unpack systems of power and privilege for ourselves and for our students, there are many lessons we can learn to make teaching and learning more powerful and inclusive for our learning communities.
- Reframing the Dominant Diversity Discourse: Alternate Conversations for Creating Whole System Change Drawing on the organization development and change literatures, this paper offers three alternate perspectives for reframing campus diversity work, arguing that all D&I initiatives must consider the (a) contextual, (b) multilevel and (c) systemic nature of change if they are to be robust and successful.
- Integrating Universal Design, Culturally Sustaining Practices, and Constructivism to Advance Inclusive Pedagogy in the Undergraduate Classroom In order to advance inclusion for all students in the higher education classroom, the authors of this article propose integrating universal design, culturally sustaining pedagogy, and constructivist approaches to teaching and learning and also provide practical strategies that promote a more inclusive undergraduate classroom.
- Black Lives Matter - Broward College Libraries' Online Guide"Our goal is to ensure that our colleagues understand why #BlackLivesMatter (and address the social response to the notion of All Lives Matter), focus on social justice, and create an atmosphere of civil discussion on race."
Online & Hybrid Course Development
Practice
How to Design and Teach a Hybrid Course: Achieving Student-Centered Learning Through Blended Classroom, Online and Experiential Activities by
Starting with a brief review of the relevant theory – such as andragogy, inquiry-based learning, experiential learning and theories that specifically relate to distance education – this book addresses the practicalities of planning a hybrid course, taking into account class characteristics such as size, demographics, subject matter, learning outcomes, and time available. It offers criteria for determining the appropriate mix of face-to-face, online, and experiential components for a course, and guidance on creating social presence online.The section on designing and teaching in the hybrid environment covers such key elements as promoting and managing discussion, using small groups, creating opportunities for student feedback, and ensuring that students'learning expectations are met. A concluding section of interviews with students and teachers offers a rich vein of tips and ideas.
ISBN: 9781579224226Publication Date: 2011-07-25
The Blended Course Design Workbook: A Practical Guide by
The Blended Course Design Workbook meets the need for a user-friendly resource that provides faculty members and administrators with instructions, activities, tools, templates, and deadlines to guide them through the process of revising their traditional face-to-face course into a blended format. Providing a step-by-step course design process that emphasizes active learning and student engagement, this book will help instructors adapt traditional face-to-face courses to a blended environment by guiding them through the development of course goals and learning objectives, assignments, assessments, and student support mechanisms with technology integration in mind. It will also help instructors choose the right technologies based on an instructor's comfort level with technology and their specific pedagogical needs. The book will help each instructor who uses the text to develop a unique course by making choices about their course design based on student learning needs for their chosen topic and discipline. Every component of the workbook has been piloted with faculty designing and implementing blended courses and then revised to better meet the needs of faculty across a range of comfort levels with technology use.The Blended Course Design Workbook includes detailed instructions for each stage of course design alongside specific activities that the reader can complete.
ISBN: 9781620364352Publication Date: 2016-11-11
Teaching in Blended Learning Environments: Creating and Sustaining Communities of Inquiry by
Focusing on teaching practices related to the design, facilitation, direction and assessment of blended learning experiences, Teaching in Blended Learning Environments addresses the growing demand for improved teaching in higher education.
ISBN: 9781927356470Publication Date: 2013-12-15
Teaching Online: A Guide to Theory, Research, and Practice by
Teaching Online presents instructors with a thoughtful synthesis of educational theory, research, and practice as well as a review of strategies for managing the instructional changes involved in teaching online. In addition, this book presents examples of best practices from successful online instructors as well as cutting-edge ideas from leading scholars and educational technologists. Faculty members, researchers, instructional designers, students, administrators, and policy makers who engage with online learning will find this book an invaluable resource.
ISBN: 9781421416243Publication Date: 2015-03-15
53 Interesting Ways to Support Online Learning by
53 practical ideas for facilitating and enhancing online (or digital) learning are presented. Topics include: helping students to get started: supporting student contributions; making learning personalised; encouraging students to spend more time on task; and helping students to develop their learning and progress beyond their current courses. Well-designed courses enable learners to construct their own understandings, complete collaborative tasks and participate in communities beyond the limits of their course or institution. Key terms: collaboration; online learning; open learning; participation; pedagogy; personalized learning; technology-rich environments.
ISBN: 9781907076817Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Increasing Student Engagement and Retention: Cutting-edge Technologies in Higher Education [SERIES] by
Vol. 1: Educating Educators with Social Media
Vol. 2: Higher Education Administration with Social Media: Including Applications in Student Affairs, Enrollment Management, Alumni Relations, and Career Centers
Vol. 3: Teaching Arts and Science with the New Social Media
Vol. 4: Transforming Virtual World Learning
Vol. 5: Misbehavior Online in Higher Education
Vol. 6A: Increasing Student Engagement and Retention Using Multimedia Technologies: Video Annotation, Multimedia Applications, Videoconferencing and Transmedia Storytelling
Vol. 6B: Increasing Student Engagement and Retention in E-Learning Environments: Web 2.0 and Blended Learning Technologies
Vol. 6C: Increasing Student Engagement and Retention Using Mobile Applications: Smartphones, Skype and Texting Technologies
Vol. 6D: Increasing Student Engagement and Retention Using Classroom Technologies: Classroom Response Systems and Mediated Discourse Technologies
Vol. 7: Digital Humanities
Vol. 8: Redesigning Courses for Online Delivery: Design, Interaction, Media & Evaluation
ISBN: 1299386008Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Assessment Strategies for Online Learning: Engagement and Authenticity by
In their investigation of assessment methods and learning approaches, Conrad and Openo explore assessment that engages learners and authentically evaluates education. They insist that moving to new learning environments, specifically those online and at a distance, afford educators opportunities to embrace only the most effective face-to-face assessment methods and to realize the potential of delivering education in the digital age. In this volume practitioners will find not only an indispensable introduction to new forms of assessment but also a number of best practices as described by experienced educators.
ISBN: 9781771992329Publication Date: 2018-08-01
Discipline Specific
Teaching Science Online: Practical Guidance for Effective Instruction and Lab Work by ISBN: 9781620361870Publication Date: 2016-08-09
Distance Education in Nursing by
This book addresses issues that cut across a wide range of best practices and the effect of technology on learning. [It includes] sound principles, new and creative ideas, [and] many implications for future research. What can and cannot be taught online? How are faculty best assisted in learning a new role? Who are the students in this geographically and culturally diverse learning community? This book integrates new digital teaching strategies with current distance education practices.New content promotes mobile computing in distance education, faculty preparation, quality improvement, learning in context, clinical reasoning, ethical comportment, and writing skills, and addresses the challenges of accreditation for distance programs. The text helps teachers assess their teaching strategies and try new methods in selected courses to enhance outcomes. Practical hints and key points focus on supporting learner success, using learning objects, and more.
ISBN: 0826109462Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Learning and Teaching Writing Online: Strategies for Success by
This volume explores the challenges facing practitioners in higher education who use online environments and explores strategies for enhancing the experience of learners. The book focuses on online feedback, collaboration, and course design.
ISBN: 9789004290358Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Web Writing: Why and How for Liberal Arts Teaching and Learning by
The essays in Web Writing respond to contemporary debates over the proper role of the Internet in higher education, steering a middle course between polarized attitudes that often dominate the conversation. The authors argue for the wise integration of web tools into what the liberal arts does best: writing across the curriculum. All academic disciplines value clear and compelling prose, whether that prose comes in the shape of a persuasive essay, scientific report, or creative expression. The act of writing visually demonstrates how we think in original and critical ways and in ways that are deeper than those that can be taught or assessed by a computer. Furthermore, learning to write well requires engaged readers who encourage and challenge us to revise our muddled first drafts and craft more distinctive and informed points of view. Indeed, a new generation of web-based tools for authoring, annotating, editing, and publishing can dramatically enrich the writing process, but doing so requires liberal arts educators to rethink why and how we teach this skill, and to question those who blindly call for embracing or rejecting technology.
ISBN: 9780472121359Publication Date: 2015
Theory
The Flipped Approach to Higher Education: Designing Universities for Today’s Knowledge Economies and Societies by
From the world's first completely flipped institution, the authors address the socio-economic and socio-technical nature of today's world and how this impacts what is needed from the education sector, outlining how and why they adopted Flipped Learning as the transformative approach required to meet these needs, and definitively describe the organizational design process needed to establish a Flipped institution, from physical and geographical infrastructure, to human and intellectual capital. Included in this book are chapters in which administrators, pedagogical and technical support staff, instructors and students share their experiences and lessons learned in the first year and how the Flipped approach has impacted their education experience.
ISBN: 9781786357441Publication Date: 2016-11-18
The Theory and Practice of Online Learning by
This collection of essays by practitioners and scholars provides an overview of some of the most pressing issues in online education. By addressing transformations arising from educational technology advances and the new business conditions and modes of delivery of education, the contributors to The Theory and Practice of Online Learning provide insights into this complex, diverse, and rapidly evolving field.
ISBN: 9781897425084Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Pedagogies for Student-Centered Learning Online and On-Ground by
This book will help you to identify the difference between teacher-centered and student-centered learning and the various pedagogies commonly associated with each. This book will draw upon the research and experience of three different educators and their pedagogical variations and uses within the classroom and online. Crumly’s synopsis of student-centered learning and suggested action is followed by a collaborative dialogue with Pamela Dietz and Sarah d’Angelo. Dietz and d’Angelo provide practical commentary regarding the successful implementation of Crumly’s proposed approaches. As a group, Crumly, Dietz, and d’Angelo create a text that extends pedagogical innovation in inspiring but practical ways.
ISBN: 9781451489538Publication Date: 2014-11-01
Digital Literacies for Learning by
The book is in two parts: In Part 1, Literacies in the Digital Age, the contributors analyse how digital technologies have enabled transformative change in the ways in which learning can be constructed, and discuss the nature of the new literacies that have emerged in this new virtual and e-learning environment; and, in Part 2, Enabling and Supporting Digital Literacies, the contributors go on to consider the ways in which digital literacies can be made available to learners, and how these literacies are being relocated in a more student-centred environment within the broader perspective of learning. This book takes the issues raised in the successful Information and IT Literacy, also co-edited by Allan Martin, into a broader context. It is essential reading for all information professionals and educators involved in developing strategies and practices for learning in a digital age.
ISBN: 9781856049870Publication Date: 2018
Minds Online: Teaching Effectively with Technology by
For the Internet generation, educational technology designed with the brain in mind offers a natural pathway to the pleasures and rewards of deep learning. Drawing on neuroscience and cognitive psychology, Michelle Miller shows how attention, memory, critical thinking, and analytical reasoning can be enhanced through technology-aided approaches.
ISBN: 9780674368248Publication Date: 2014-10-20
The Textbook and the Lecture: Education in the Age of New Media by
Friesen examines the interrelationship of reading, writing, and pedagogy in the case of the lecture and the textbook—from their premodern to their postmodern incarnations. Over hundreds of years, these two forms have integrated textual, oral, and (more recently) digital media and connected them with changing pedagogical and cultural priorities. The Textbook and the Lecture opens new possibilities for understanding not only mediated pedagogical practices and their reform but also gradual changes in our conceptions of the knowing subject and of knowledge itself.
ISBN: 9781421424347Publication Date: 2017-12-15- Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone: Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education by
Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone is aimed at faculty members, faculty-service staff, disability support providers, student-service staff, campus leaders, and graduate students who want to strengthen the engagement, interaction, and performance of all college students. It includes resources for readers who want to become Universal Design for Learning experts and advocates: real-world case studies, active-learning techniques, UDL coaching skills, micro and macro-level UDL-adoption guidance, and use-them now resources.
ISBN: 1946684600Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Game On!: Gamification, Gameful Design, and the Rise of the Gamer Educator by
Kevin Bell's Game On! presents dynamic case studies of gamer educators and game-derived techniques to help instructors creatively formulate their own teaching strategies. Breaking gamefully designed classes into their component parts, Bell analyzes what these classes are actually doing and explains why they work. He offers faculty a rubric to assess their own courses for their propensity to engage students, particularly those from low socioeconomic and high-risk populations. Bell explores how game design, pedagogy, and intrinsic motivators can level the playing field to produce rigorous learning environments that are as addictive to all participants as the latest apps and social media systems. He also discusses best practices, lays out the broader context of computer-mediated teaching and learning, and considers the challenges and opportunities that gamification presents. Instructors would do well to consider the key tenets of successful games if they are to engage and graduate the coming generations of learners. Bell's careful analysis of the theories behind gamification, cognitive science, and instructional design will help them to do just that.
ISBN: 9781421423968Publication Date: 2017-12-15- Diversifying Digital Learning: Online Literacy and Educational Opportunity by
Diversifying Digital Learning outlines the pervasive problems that exist with ensuring digital equity and identifies successful strategies to tackle the issue. Bringing together top scholars to discuss how digital equity in education might become a key goal in American education, this book is structured to provide a framework for understanding how historically underrepresented students most effectively engage with technology—and how institutions may help or hinder students'ability to develop and capitalize on digital literacies.This book will appeal to readers who are well versed in the diverse uses of social media and technologies, as well as less technologically savvy educators and policy analysts in educational organizations such as schools, after school programs, colleges, and universities. Addressing the intersection of digital media, race/ethnicity, and socioeconomic class in a frank manner, the lessons within this compelling work will help educators enable students in grades K–12, as well as in post-secondary institutions, to participate in a rapidly changing world framed by shifting new media technologies.
ISBN: 9781421424354Publication Date: 2018-02-01
The Disruptive Power of Online Education: Challenges, Opportunities, Responses by
The higher education sector is being disrupted through the effect that technological innovations have on the educational market. As digital and mobile technologies are developing further, higher education institutions must embrace these developments to meet the needs of their learners and to not become irrelevant. In higher education, disruptive effects are mainly visible on a program/product level, with an increasing number of programs including some element of online education. Disruptive effects also become evident on a pedagogical level, where student engagement, collaboration and social learning, gamification and serious games, competency-based learning, teacher training, and overcoming geosocial divides are high on the agenda. This book considers the effect of online elements and their design on university business models and internationalization, course design, massive open online courses (MOOCs), and the scalability of online programs. It also explores how higher education institutions across the globe respond and react to the challenges and opportunities evolving in online education.
ISBN: 9781787543263Publication Date: 2018-11-22
Higher Education in the Digital Age by
Surveying the dizzying array of new technology-based teaching and learning initiatives, including the highly publicized emergence of "massive open online courses" (MOOCs), Bowen argues that such technologies could transform traditional higher education--allowing it at last to curb rising costs by increasing productivity, while preserving quality and protecting core values. But the challenges, which are organizational and philosophical as much as technological, are daunting. They include providing hard evidence of whether online education is cost-effective in various settings, rethinking the governance and decision-making structures of higher education, and developing customizable technological platforms. Yet, Bowen remains optimistic that the potential payoff is great.
ISBN: 9780691159300Publication Date: 2013-04-07
The Future of Innovation and Technology in Education: Policies and Practices for Teaching and Learning Excellence by
This book focuses on approaches to teaching and learning that integrate emerging technologies to enhance the quality of education. It brings together conceptual and empirical insights to elaborate on the design of effective programs, educational policies and educational administration requirements. The chapters cover topics such as social media's use in learning, virtual learning, innovative pedagogy, data mining, massive open online courses (MOOCs) and sustainable education. Special emphasis is placed on virtual and augmented reality (VR/AR), and the use of electronic devices such as tablets and smartphones in the classroom. The authors explore how advances in information and communication technology (ICT) can improve opportunities through education for all.
ISBN: 9781787565562Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Flipping the College Classroom: Practical Advice from Faculty by
This collection is a comprehensive guide to flipping no matter how much—or how little—experience you have with it. It covers all necessary territory, including how to: Plan flipped lessons, Engage students in flipped instruction and active learning, Motivate unprepared students, Hold students accountable for pre-class work, Incorporate moments of reflection into an active-learning classroom, Use small-group work in flipped classrooms, Integrate moments of reflection, Flip courses regardless of the size of the classroom, Accommodate introverted students who might be uncomfortable with the flipped model, Assess in a flipped environment, Use feedback to advance learning, Flip online courses, Best use technology in flipped instruction
Call Number: LB2395.7 .F55 2016 (Faculty Professional Development)ISBN: 9780912150284Publication Date: 2016-09-15
Flip Your Classroom: Reach Every Student in Every Class Every Day by
Learn what a flipped classroom is and why it works, and get the information you need to flip a classroom. You’ll also learn the flipped mastery model, where students learn at their own pace, furthering opportunities for personalized education. This simple concept is easily replicable in any classroom, doesn’t cost much to implement, and helps foster self-directed learning. Once you flip, you won’t want to go back!
Call Number: LB1044.75 .B47 2012ISBN: 9781564843159Publication Date: 2012-06-21
The Chronicle of Higher Education
In order to access the full content of The Chronicle of Higher Education, you will need to create a user account using your Cleveland State email. Please note that newer articles appear at the top of this list.
ERIC
- Active Connections: Means for Faculty to Create an Environment in Which Students WANT to Engage! This interactive, cross-disciplinary research explores face-to-face and online strategies for faculty to deploy in the classroom that encourage connections beyond forced engagement methodologies commonly used. Concentration is on methods of connecting that are "out of the mainstream" and benefit both students and faculty. Findings indicate that the more students feel as a valued participant of the learning community, the more they engage in the class activities.
- Award-Winning Faculty Online Teaching Practices: Elements of Award-Winning Courses The purpose of this study was to explore award-winning instructors' insights on elements of their course design that were award-winning and the differences between expert and novice online instructors. Interviews were conducted with eight award-winning online faculty members from across the United States who had received online teaching awards from one of three professional associations. The five main areas that emerged from the data analysis were (a) authentic and relevant course materials that connect to practice, (b) the use of multimedia resources, (c) student creation of digital content individually and collaboratively, (d) students' reflection on learning, and (e) the instructor's explanation of the purpose of activities, technologies, and assessments in the online course. Additionally, award-winning faculty emphasized the importance of using data and evaluation practices and reflecting on course offerings in the development of an excellent online course. Award-wining faculty described expert online instructors as being experienced and comfortable in the online environment, using a wide range of strategies, being willing to learn, using data and analytics, and engaging in continuous improvement. The findings add to the literature on best practices and what constitutes excellence in online courses.
- Challenges Faced by Adult Learners in Online Distance Education: A Literature Review Although online distance education provides adult learners with an opportunity for life-long learning, there are still factors challenging them to engage in educational processes. The purpose of this study is to explore the challenges faced by adult learners in online distance education through the analysis of the relevant literature. The articles (N=36) published in the key journals in the fields of open and distance education, instructional technology, and adult education were reviewed and analyzed through constant comparative analysis in the current study. The findings reveal that adult learners have challenges related to internal, external, and program related factors indicating the interrelated nature of these challenges. The findings also show that the challenges experienced by adult learners vary depending on their age, gender, knowledge and skills as well as the context in which they study. The findings of this study, which has an exploratory nature, have several implications for distance education stakeholders such as administrators, instructors, instructional designers, and policy makers.
- Digital Storytelling: Conveying the Essence of a Face-to-Face Lecture in an Online Learning Environment As the percentage of university-level courses delivered online continues to increase, instructors who rely on storytelling approaches to convey key concepts in lecture-based coursework will likely face the need to translate their oral storytelling modules into one or more formats that are suitable for use in an online learning environment. While in simple cases it may be sufficient to supply text-based transcriptions of stories and narratives or straightforward "talking head" style videos to online learners, more elaborate storylines may require the application of advanced multimedia presentation technologies, often referred to as digital storytelling. In this paper, the selection and preparation of video-based digital storytelling learning modules is discussed in the context of meeting the self-directed learning preferences of students enrolled in a senior-level undergraduate leadership course. An example video produced on the topic of mentorship illustrates how the gap between personalized face-to-face storytelling in a lecture-based course and the less personal asynchronous learning in an online section of the same course may be bridged to maintain student comprehension of the key concepts involved.
- Effective Use of Group Projects in Online Learning Group projects have long been used in face-to-face instruction to improve cognitive learning among its students. Group projects not only provide practical experience and allow students to practice the concepts they have learned, but also teach the students creative construction and group dynamics. As important as group projects have proven in conventional learning, they are rarely used in online education courses. This paper examines the foundations of effectively using group projects, and then demonstrates how to integrate them into online learning courses.
- Increasing Social Presence in Online Learning through Small Group Discussions Social presence is difficult to achieve, but an imperative component of online learning. In this study, we investigated the effect of group size on students' perceptions of social presence in two graduate-level online courses, comparing small group versus whole class discussions. Our results indicated that when in small group discussions, students perceived a higher level of social presence in terms of sociability, t(32) = 3.507, p = 0.001; social space, t(29) = 3.074, p = 0.005; and group cohesion, t(32) = 3.550, p = 0.001. We discuss how placing students in small and permanent discussion groups can augment social presence. Designers and educators of online learning can strategically modify group size to promote social presence in asynchronous online discussions.
- Less Is More: Use of Video to Address the Problem of Teacher Immediacy and Presence in Online Courses Online courses are becoming more common at institutions of higher education, yet teaching online creates many challenges, including how to foster instructor immediacy in the online learning environment. Student feedback on audio and video teaching techniques were collected in two undergraduate online classes. Students thought that using video in multiple ways (weekly announcements and assignment feedback) provided increased immediacy and motivation for online students in two Communication courses: Mass Media and Society and Communication Theory. Ultimately, instructors can make a positive difference in perceived instructor immediacy and presence with small changes through general class directed videos and short weekly video announcements (roughly 3 minutes in length) periodically throughout the semester. Use of short videos for feedback as opposed to longer lecture-based videos can be a useful instructional technique for a wide range of online courses within higher education.
- Exploring Design Elements for Online STEM Courses: Active Learning, Engagement & Assessment Design The purpose of this study was to examine effective design elements for online courses in the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields at a large four-year public university in southeastern United States. Our research questions addressed the influence of online design elements on students' perception of learning and learning satisfaction. An online survey was completed by 537 students from 15 online STEM courses in spring 2016. The survey results indicated that student perceptions of learning and satisfaction were correlated with their perceptions of the efficacy of specific design elements, such as integrated active learning activities, interactive engagement strategies, and robust assessment design. In particular, perception of assessment design efficacy was significantly correlated with students' self-perceived learning and learning satisfaction for students of all subpopulations. The findings inform instructors and instructional designers on how to design effective, inclusive, and engaging online STEM courses. Student survey responses were observed to support universal design for learning (UDL) and in light of this, online STEM instructors are also strongly encouraged to utilize UDL principles in course design, which benefit not only students with disabilities but all students.
- The Role of Flipped Learning in Managing the Cognitive Load of a Threshold Concept in Physiology To help students master challenging, threshold concepts in physiology, I used the flipped learning model in a human anatomy and physiology course with very encouraging results in terms of student motivation, preparedness, engagement, and performance. The flipped learning model was enhanced by pre-training and formative assessments that provided opportunities for retrieval practice. Students in flipped learning sections had much higher retention and pass rates than those in non-flipped learning sections.
Other
- Evaluating Benefits and Drawbacks of Hybrid Courses: Perspectives of College Instructors Hybrid courses at the college level have become increasingly popular for over two decades. Traditional, face-to-face and distance learning (online) have satisfied a large number of students in terms of effectively learning new course materials and retaining these materials long after college graduation. Hybrid courses attempt to end the sharp divide between traditional and online instruction. Multiple hybrid course formats have been developed and taught in order to accommodate additional groups of students who can benefit from the best of both traditional and online learning. However, college instructors, students, and administrators must realize that not all students are suited for a hybrid design. Instructors have both positive and negative experiences in teaching hybrid courses from different subject areas and at various academic levels (graduate and undergraduate). This article evaluates previously published literature regarding the benefits and drawbacks of hybrid courses from the perspectives of college instructors. [ABSTRACT FROM AUTHOR]
- The Blended Learning ToolkitThe Blended Learning Toolkit is a free repository of information, tools, resources, models, examples, and research related to blended learning. It is designed to assist any faculty member or institution in developing a blended course or program.
- National Communication Association: Online Teaching & Learning ResourcesNCA’s Teaching & Learning Council developed this list of online teaching & learning resources to aid instructional faculty in migrating courses online. The site is updated frequently with new resources.