Cleveland State CC Library
Search for magazine and journal articles
Best Bets
If you are short on time, these resources are your best bet to find relevant, reliable information.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints is a cross-curricular research database covering today's social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana legalization. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
- Elementary (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowKids InfoBits is is a content-rich, authoritative, easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. It features a modern, graphical interface that improves navigation understanding to offer students an introduction to database searching that is in step with their skill level.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowCovers multiple levels of education from preschool to college with topics such as administration, bilingual education, child development, education policy, and technology. Many of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
- Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowA collection of educational journals covering topics as diverse as 21st century skills, learning disorders, standardized testing, home schooling and more.
- Education Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEducation Full Text provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, covering special education, educational tests, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowIndexing of educational journal articles focused on educational topics, published by the Institute of Education Sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Database Searching
A library database is a collection of resources, often articles from academic journals. Cleveland State provides you access to over 100 research databases in many disciplines. These databases fall into two broad categories: multidisciplinary (or general) databases and subject-specific databases.
Multidisciplinary databases, as the name suggests, contain articles from many different disciplines. They can be useful when your topic is multidisciplinary in nature or when you are trying to get a broad idea of what has been published on your topic.
Subject-specific databases let you search for scholarly articles in a particular discipline.
Strengths of subject-specific databases
-
May contain background information and overviews on your topic
-
Include search tools that are unique to the discipline
Weaknesses of subject-specific databases
-
Can be more time-consuming to use
-
Can require knowledge of advanced search techniques
-
May not capture relevant articles for topics that are multidisciplinary or interdisciplinary
For a full list of the databases available, check our A to Z Databases List. This list can be filtered by subject.
Catalog Searching
Searching Primo for articles can be a useful starting point in your search process as the catalog pulls results from all of our online resources. Be sure to select the Articles from the search interface so that your results are limited to articles.
While catalog searching is convenient, there are drawbacks. You may get many article results that aren't relevant to your discipline, and you will probably have fewer ways to limit your search than when you search a specific database.
- Primo - The Library CatalogWhat do the different tabs mean?
Everything: search for print books, ebooks, and articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals
Library catalog: search for print books and ebooks
E-journals and databases: search for articles from newspapers, magazines and academic journals
Course reserves: search for materials placed on reserve by your instructors
Parts of a Scholarly Article
Abstract - This summary helps you to identify the article’s focus, source type (primary or secondary), and relevance to your research question.
Introduction - This section includes the research questions and researchers’ rationale for conducting the study.
Literature Review - This section organizes and discusses existing research on the topic and puts the researchers’ work in context.
Methodology - This section discusses how the research was conducted and can help you determine its credibility.
Results - This section includes the uninterpreted or raw results of the research.
Discussion - This section describes the researchers’ interpretations of the results and answers the research questions.
Conclusion - This section examines the meaning of the research results in a larger context and describes gaps that need to be filled.
References - This section includes additional relevant resources to your topic.
Source: Saint Mary's University of Minnesota Library (pdf)
The Peer Review Process
- Exchange: The Early Childhood Leaders' MagazineCall Number: PeriodicalsExchange provides practical ideas and proven strategies for dealing with the day-to-day challenges of administering an early childhood program.
- YC Young ChildrenCall Number: PeriodicalsAn award-winning, peer-reviewed journal that combines research and practice, Young Children supports educational excellence and focuses on meeting the needs of all children, birth through third grade.
- Young Exceptional ChildrenCall Number: PeriodicalsYoung Exceptional Children (YEC) is written for teachers, early care and education personnel, educational administrators, therapists, families and others who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are at risk for future developmental problems. It offers useful, friendly articles that help readers implement research-based strategies and interventions across many settings.
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis innovative full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- The Tennessean (2002-Present) This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable access to the Tennesseean, a Nashville newspaper, from 2002 to present.
Local Newspapers in Print
The Advocate & Democrat (Monroe County)
The Chattanooga Times Free Press (Hamilton County)
The Cleveland Daily Banner (Bradley County)
The Knoxville News Sentinel (Knox County)