Legal Resources
- Congress.govCongress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Cleveland State CC Library
Getting Started
In order to find solutions to the social work problem that you are addressing, you must first understand your problem and how it affects the area. Look for local statistics and try to find local agencies that work with the issue you are researching.
Search for information about the impact of the issue
Opposing Viewpoints is an excellent place to start your research for this assignment. Please watch the video below for instructions on using this database.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new windowOpposing Viewpoints is a cross-curricular research database covering today's social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana legalization. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Explore your issue in Tennessee newspapers
- Cleveland Daily BannerThe Cleveland Daily Banner's archive contains most staff-written and other selected articles from May 1998 to the present.
- The Tennessean (2010-Present)Full-text searchable access to the Tennesseean, a Nashville newspaper, from 2010 to present.
- News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowThis innovative full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Search for the prevalence rate of your issue
- Bradley County ReportsProvides health statistics and other data about social and economic issues related to Bradley County.
- Census BureauProvides current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy.
- Tennessee State Data CenterProvides access to and education on timely demographic and economic data for citizens, businesses and government agencies in Tennessee.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsEssential economic information regarding labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
- Kids Count Data CenterKIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation and a premier source of data on children and families. Each year, the Foundation produces a comprehensive report — the KIDS COUNT Data Book — that assesses child well-being in the United States. The indicators featured in the Data Book are also available in the Data Center.
- Chattanooga Regional Homeless CoalitionProvides data about the local homeless population via annual Point-in-Time reports.