Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If prompted to enter a password when trying to access a Gale database, type elvis.

Policies and Procedures

Circulation Basics

Circulation Services is the first point of contact for many Cleveland State library users. The Circulation Desk is located in the southwest corner of the library, immediately to the right of the entrance. 

Services provided by the Circulation Desk staff include:

  • checking out and receiving items from the circulating collection;
  • checking out and receiving items placed on reserve by instructors, select textbooks, laptops, tablets, and calculators;
  • issuing Community Borrower's cards for library users from the local community;
  • creating computer access credentials for library users from the local community;
  • providing general information;
  • helping users request items through intercampus and interlibrary loans;
  • answering questions about overdue and billed materials;
  • processing payment for library fines if paid in cash or by check; and
  • placing a "hold" on items currently on loan when requested by a patron and notifying the patron who requested the hold when the item is returned and is ready for check-out

Books in the General Collection and Children's Collection may be checked out for two weeks. Magazines, Journals, and DVDs may be checked out for one week. Select items placed on Reserve by faculty for use in conjunction with courses are available at the circulation desk. These items may be available for room use only (cannot leave the library), one day, two days, or one week depending on instructor preference. Textbooks and items in the Reference Collection are available for room use only. Library materials may be renewed online for most items, in person at the circulation desk, or by phone at (423) 478-6209.

The library also has phone chargers, iPad2s, Nexus Android Tablets, and Dell Laptops available for checkout. iPads may be checked out for one week's off campus use.  Laptops are for room use only.  To check out a mobile device, students must present their CSCC ID at the circulation desk and complete a Mobile Device Borrower Checkout Responsibility Agreement. Mobile devices must be renewed in person at the circulation desk. 

Who Can Checkout Checkout Period Renewable?** Grace Period? Late Fee
Best Sellers Students, Staff, & Faculty 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Calculators Students End of Term No Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Children's Chapter All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Children's Picture All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Course Videos Students, Staff, & Faculty 1-week Yes - up to 7 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Faculty Prof. Dev. All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
General All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
iPads Students 1-week No No $1/day
Laptops Students & Faculty Room Use Only No No $0.25/day
Oversized All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Periodicals All 1-week Yes - up to 7 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Rainy Day Reads All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
Reference All Room Use Only No No $0.25/day
Reserves Students, Staff, & Faculty 1-week Yes - up to 7 weeks No $0.25/day
Students, Staff, & Faculty 2-day Yes - up to 14 days No $0.25/day
Students, Staff, & Faculty Room Use Only No No $0.25/day
Special Collections All 2-weeks Yes - up to 14 weeks Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day
All Room Use Only No No $0.25/day
Textbooks Students, Staff, & Faculty Room Use Only No No $0.25/day
* The 5 Day Grace period does not count Saturdays, days the library is closed, and any day when there are no classes.
**Any item which has been requested by another patron will not be eligible for renewal.

Please see the chart below for the maximum number of items patrons can borrow at any given time. 

Item Type Student Limit Faculty & Staff Limit Community Patron
General Collection, Oversized, Children's Collection, Rainy Day Reads No Limit No Limit 5
DVDs, Magazines, Journals No Limit No Limit 5
Mobile Devices 1 of each type 1 of each type 0
Course Reserves 2 No Limit 0
Textbooks and Reference Collection 0 0 0

In addition to returning items to the circulation desk, patrons may return items* to one of our blue book drops located 1) on the sidewalk between the George L. Mathis Student Center and the Mary T. Barker Humanities Building or 2) on the sidewalk in front of the Career Education Building. 

*Mobile devices must be returned to the library circulation desk. 

Patrons will be notified via email three times regarding any loans they have that are in danger of or have accrued fines. See the chart below for the automated notifications schedule. 

Day Sent Name of Letter
The morning of the day before the due date Courtesy Notice
The morning of the due date Due Loans Letter
One week after the due date Long Overdue Items
30 days after the due date Lost Item Bill

*** If an item is more than 30 days past due, it will be marked as lost and the patron will be charged for the actual replacement cost of the item. Please see the Fines & Fees tab for additional information.

Late fees are accrued at a rate of $0.25 per day per item for all items except mobile devices, for which the late fee is $1 a day.

Late fees begin to accrue 5 days after the due date for all items except mobile devices and items on Reserve. There is no grace period for these items. Fines are not charged for days the library is closed or during school breaks. The amount levied for all items except mobile devices and select Reserve materials will not exceed the price of replacement of the item and/or $10, whichever amount is less. Overdue fines for mobile devices will not exceed $40.

30 days overdue: If an item is more than 30 days overdue, it will be marked as lost and the borrower will be responsible for the cost of replacing the item. If a patron returns the item after the 30 days, he/she will pay a $10 late fee rather than the cost of replacement. Patrons can view any fines and fees owed by accessing their patron account information from the Primo (library catalog) home screen or by presenting their CSCC ID to the circulation desk staff and requesting their library account balance. 

Grace Period? Late Fee Maximum Fee
Best Sellers Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Calculators Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Children's Chapter Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Children's Picture Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Course Videos Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Faculty Prof. Dev. Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
General Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Mobile Devices No $1/day $40
No $0.25/day $10
Oversized Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Periodicals Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Rainy Day Reads Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
Reference No $0.25/day $10
Reserves No $0.25/day $10
No $0.25/day $10
No $0.25/day $10
Special Collections Yes - 5 days* $0.25/day $10
No $0.25/day $10
Textbooks No $0.25/day $10

* The 5 Day Grace period does not count Saturdays, days the library is closed, and any day when there are no classes.

Library books are protected under the Tennessee Code Title 39-Section 14. The charge for lost or damaged books is based on the replacement price of the item and may include binding costs. Books that are out of print may also activate a replacement cost search fee. Damages to materials will be assessed on an item-by-item basis by library staff.

Charges for lost/damaged videotapes/DVDs are equal to the replacement price of the item. Video/DVD copies are assessed at $12.50 per item.

Curbside Services and Item Returns

Below are instructions that will help you find and request curbside delivery of books from the Library's general physical

collection. You can search our catalog by logging into your CougarNet account. Then click on the Library button to the left.

Once on the library page locate the Primo Search in the middle of the page. This allows you to search our entire

collection. Once you have found a book you would like to use, please follow the bellow instructions to arrange for Curbside

delivery of those item(s).

 

  • Fill out the Inter-Campus Book Request Form, contact the library via email at library@clevelandstatecc.edu, or use the Chat now green button to the left.  If contacting by email please provide as much information about the book as possible, at the minimum we need title and author, classification would be very helpful, as well as providing your student N number.

  • Once your request has been received the library will verify that the item is available.  If it is, the library will email you to arrange an appointment time for you to pick up your item.

  • If the item is not available a reference librarian will contact you to help you find another book to meet your needs and to set up the appointment.

  • When it is time for your appointment to pick up your item, proceed to the Gym parking lot and look for the designated parking spots for Curbside Delivery nearest to the library.  Please bring your student ID with you.

  • Once you are in the parking lot check to see if a library staff member is in the vicinity.  If you do not see anyone then call the library at 423-478-6209.  Let us know that you are here to pick up your item.

  • The staff member will verify your student ID and then will provide you with your item.

Below are the instructions that will help you request curbside delivery of items that you need printed out.

 

Be aware that while library staff are printing out your document they may unintentionally see part of the document you are requesting to have printed.  The library takes the privacy of patrons very seriously and nothing associated with your account or your interactions will be disclosed.  However, if you are sending something sensitive that you do not wish anyone to see then we recommend that you wait to print the document until such time as there is unfettered access to campus and you can print the document yourself.
 

  • Contact the library via email at library@clevelandstatecc.edu.  Please provide your name, your N number, and whether you would like your print in black and white or color.  Also be sure to provide a copy of whatever it is that you would like to print.  To the best of your ability please provide the actual document that you need printed as opposed to directions to where to find the item.  (A PDF or text copy of your syllabus rather than instructions to go to a certain web page and click on a certain link.)

  • Once your request has been received the library will email you to arrange an appointment time for you to pick up your item.

  • When it is time for your appointment to pick up your item, proceed to the Gym parking lot and look for the designated parking spots for Curbside Delivery nearest to the library.  Please bring your student ID with you.

  • Once you are in the parking lot check to see if a library staff member is in the vicinity.  If you do not see anyone then call the library at 423-478-6209.  Let us know that you are here to pick up your item and verify which parking lot you are in.

  • The staff member will verify your student ID and then will provide you with your item.