LibGuides: Early Childhood Education 2310: Safe, Healthy, Learning Environments (Public): Project Resources

Project Resources

Tennessee Department of Children's Services - Child Safety
The Child Safety section of the Tennessee Department of Children's Services website provides information about the legal requirements and methods for reporting child abuse.
Tennessee Department of Children's Services - Regional Offices
Listing of the Tennessee Department of Children's Services regional offices. Information about local offices can be found by clicking on the link for the Tennessee Valley.
Tennessee Legal Code Regarding Reporting Child Abuse
Full text of the legal code in Tennessee requiring reporting of child abuse.

For child care ratios and group size charts, see pp. 78-79. For director qualifications, see pp. 80-84. Educator qualifications can be found on pp. 87-89.

Tennessee DHS: Commonly Requested Childcare Licensing Forms

Child Care Observation Documentation: Use of Developmental Learning Standards form (Document Download)
Sample Kindergarten Parent Acknowledgement Form
Sample Child's Application (Document Download)
Sample Child Care Provider Medical Report
Serious Injury Incident Report Form (English)
Serious Injury Incident Report form (Spanish)
Home TN-ELDS Documentation Form
Center TN-ELDS Documentation Form
Summary of Family Child Care Home Licensing
Resumen De Los Requisitos De Licencia Para Los Hogares De Cuidado Infantil
Resumen De Los Requisitos De Licencia Para Los Hogares De Cuidado Infantil Grupal
Summary of Center Licensing Requirements for Child Care Agencies
Resumen De Los Requisitos De Licencia Para Los Centros De Cuidado Infantil
Personal Safety Curriculum Notification (HS-2984) Spanish (HS-2984SP) (Document Download)
Personal Safety Curriculum Notification for Drop-In Centers (HS-2994) Spanish (HS-2994S) (Document Download)
Influenza Information Notification (Document Download)
Child Care Criminal/Juvenile History & State Registry Review Disclosure Form (Document Download)
Child Care Emergency Preparedness Plan Template (HS3275) (Instructions) (Document Download)
Transmittal Authorization Form (Document Download)
Sample Professional Development Plan
Exempt Agency Health and Safety Checklist (Document Download)
Criminal Background Check Transfer

Explore the University of Colorado College of Nursing's National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC) and National Database of Childcare Licensing Regulations.

Community Playthings
This newsletter, sponsored by a company that sells classroom furniture, has particularly good articles on designing classroom environments.
Designing Classroom Environments.
Whether you just need ideas to reimagine your space, or would like help with the actual furniture layout, we’ve got you covered.
Lakeshore - Classroom Designer
Create free classroom blueprint designs.

These websites will help get you started on your Resource Portfolio:

CDA - Pediatric First Aid Training Certificate
National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education
Improving the Quality of Out-of-Home Child Care
and Early Education
USDA's Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)
The Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) is a federal program that provides reimbursements for nutritious meals and snacks to eligible children and adults who are enrolled for care at participating child care centers, day care homes, and adult day care centers.
CDA HS Student Career Path

PBS Learning Media
A collection of thematic activities and classroom plans related to popular PBS shows for children. Includes some relevant articles and pamphlets for parents.
Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)
The CLAS website, which is maintained by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s College of Education, provides links to their publications and an extensive list of early childhood resources.
Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services: Publications.
"These publications can be used by early childhood/special education practitioners to help them select culturally and linguistically appropriate materials. In addition, they may be used in college classroom curricula, workshops, or ongoing research in the field. You are welcome to view, download, and print the Review Guidelines, technical reports, and ERIC Digests." - Website.
Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS): Early Childhood Resources
"The Links section on the CLAS Website; refers to the information contained and/or the resources related to the topics of Early Childhood Education, Special Education and Linguistic and Cultural Diversity. The links between CLAS and other Web pages are not the responsibility of CLAS or OSEP. Also, CLAS is not responsible for the quality of any of its products, resources and/or services of the Website you are visiting." Website

Kids Count: a premier source of data on children, youth and families.
Kids Count provides excellent national and state-level statistics on children and children's welfare.
Kids Count: National Data
Kids Count: State-Level Statistics

Early Childhood Education 2310: Safe, Healthy, Learning Environments (Public)

Project Resources

Tennessee Department of Children's Services - Child Safety

Tennessee Department of Children's Services - Regional Offices

Tennessee Legal Code Regarding Reporting Child Abuse

Tennessee DHS: Becoming a Licensed Child Care Provider

Tennessee Child Care Rules and Regulations

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC)

National Database of Childcare Licensing Regulations

U.S. Department of Agriculture's Child & Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)

CACFP's Nutrition Standards for CACFP Meals and Snacks

Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards

Community Playthings

Designing Classroom Environments.

Lakeshore - Classroom Designer

CDA - Pediatric First Aid Training Certificate

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education

USDA's Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP)

CDA HS Student Career Path

PBS Learning Media

Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)

Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services: Publications.

Cultural and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS): Early Childhood Resources

Kids Count: a premier source of data on children, youth and families.

Kids Count: National Data

Kids Count: State-Level Statistics