Skip to Main Content

BUSN 1310: Business Communications: International Business Project

International Business Project Resources

Getting Started

Use the tabs above to explore resources selected to help you complete your International Business Project. 

BUSN 1310 Presentation

Areas to be Addressed: You need an opening statement for each area that leads into the questions you choose to answer. Each question is a subheading.

Social Customs

  • What is the importance of how people greet each other?  How does that affect communication?
  • In communicating within the country are any phrases, facial expressions, or hand gestures considered rude?
  • Within the social customs of the country what topics may or may not be discussed in a social setting? In a business setting?
  • How do social customs of the country dictate interaction between men and women? Between younger people and older people?

Political Patterns

  • How does the stability of the political situation affect business communication within the country?
  • What is the importance of knowing whether it is appropriate to talk politics in social or business situations?

Religious and Social Beliefs

  • Is it important to business communication to know which religious groups people may belong?
  • Do religious beliefs within the country affect communication between men and women or between any other groups?
  • Is there a tolerance for minority religions within the country and what are those minority religions?
  • What religious holidays affect business and government activities within the country and what is the effect?

Economic and Business Institutions

  • What is the importance of what languages are spoken within the country and what is the effect on business communication?
  • Within the country, are businesses usually large? Family controlled? Government controlled?
  • How do the people within the country view scheduled appointments?
  • Is socialization important before conducting business within the country?

Nature of Ethics, Values, and Laws

  • Do people within the country value competitiveness or cooperation?
  • Within the country what are the people’s attitudes toward work? Toward money?

Research Help

If you have questions about the resources included in this guide or need help finding additional resources for your project, email me at Gina.Cash@gotoclass.tnecampus.org. 

As a student taking BUSN 1310: Business Communications through TN eCampus, you have access to library resources and services through your home institution's library as well.

School Name

Library Link
Austin Peay State University http://library.apsu.edu/
Chattanooga State Community College https://library.chattanoogastate.edu/home
Cleveland State Community College http://www.clevelandstatecc.edu/library/
Columbia State Community College https://www.columbiastate.edu/library
Dyersburg State Community College http://www.dscc.edu/community/lrc
East Tennessee State University https://libraries.etsu.edu/home
Jackson State Community Colleg https://www.jscc.edu/library/
Middle Tennessee State University https://library.mtsu.edu/
Motlow State Community College http://www.mscc.edu/library/index.aspx
Nashville State Community College https://www.nscc.edu/library
Northeast State Community College https://library.northeaststate.edu/home
Pellissippi State Community College http://www.pstcc.edu/library/
Roane State Community College https://library.roanestate.edu/home
Southwest Tennessee Community College http://www.southwest.tn.edu/library/
Tennessee State University http://www.tnstate.edu/library/
Tennessee Technological University https://www.tntech.edu/library/
University of Memphis
Volunteer State Community College https://www.volstate.edu/library
Walters State Community College http://library.ws.edu/

Library databases are the best source of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. I recommend starting with these databases:

Academic OneFile - Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in all major disciplines.

Business - Coverage of all business disciplines, including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Business Insights: Essentials - Provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories, and full-text periodical articles. 

Economics And Theory - Provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields.

Entrepreneurship - Get insights, tips, strategies, and success stories from academic journals and magazines.

Entrepreneurship: Gale Business - Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, taxes and more. 

If you are new to database research or you just need a quick refresher on the topic, watch the video below on searching Gale’s Academic OneFile. As all of the databases listed above are Gale products, the skills covered in this video can be applied to searching any of them.

To find books and ebooks in the library at your home institution, you will need to search that library's catalog. On your library's homepage, look for a search box and enter your search terms.

Use the filters in your catalog to limit your results by resource type - books or books (online)/ebooks. 

Catalog Searching 

Searching Primo for books and articles can be a useful starting point in your search process as the catalog pulls results from all of our online and print resources. Be sure to select whether you would like to search for All Resources, Books and eBooks only, or Articles only. 

Search Terms

Begin with your country name.

Canada 

Build your search string by adding keywords from your assignment using AND to join concepts.

Ukraine AND religion 

Finland AND Etiquette

Japan AND "business communication"

Search Tip - When you surround your search terms with quotation marks, you are telling the catalog to search for the phrase rather than the individual words. 


Filtering Results by Publication Date

For this assignment, you will need to filter your search results to items published in the last five years. 

To the right of your search results, you will see options for tweaking your results. 

Under Creation Date, enter the date range specified by your instructor and hit Refine. 

Accessing Sources

Once you've found an item you are interested in reading, click on Full text available (articles) or Online access (eBooks) to view it.

A user friendly guide to MLA Style is available through Pellissippi State's Library. 

For a comprehensive guide to MLA style, including formatting rules, Works Cited list, in-text citations, and sample papers, visit the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

This video provides an Introduction to MLA in-text citations, Works Cited, and formatting.