Library Hours and Contact Info
Monday - Thursday 8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm
Chat
Monday - Thursday 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Contact Us
Email: library@clevelandstatecc.edu
Phone: (423) 473-2277
Librarian
Introduction
Welcome to CSCC Library's Research Skills Tutorial. While every academic discipline has its own research standards and practices, this tutorial will provide a review of the basic library research techniques every college student needs to know and introduce some advanced search concepts and skills that can be applied universally.
This tutorial includes four modules:
- Getting Started
- Exploring Your Topic
- Finding Sources
- Searching Smarter
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- select a strategy for effectively narrowing and refining your research topic
- identify and explore background information sources related to your topic
- identify and explore books and scholarly articles related to your topic
- employ advanced search techniques to refine your search in the library’s databases
If you have questions about the content of any of the modules, ask a librarian!
Phone: (423) 478-6209
Email: library@clevelandstatecc.edu
Library Hours: Monday-Thursday: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Friday: 8:00am - 4:30pm (Virtually)
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Circulation Policies
Books in the General Collection and Children's Collection may be checked out for two weeks. Print periodicals may be checked out for one week. Select items placed on Reserve by faculty for use in conjunction with courses are available at the circulation desk. These items may be available for room use only (cannot leave the library), one day, two days, or one week depending on instructor preference. Textbooks and items in the Reference Collection are available for room use only. Most library materials may be renewed online through Primo, in person at the circulation desk, or by phone at (423) 473-2277.
The library also has Chromebooks, hotspots, and calculators available for checkout. These devices must be renewed in person at the circulation desk. Students must present a copy of their course schedule as proof of enrollment and complete a new Borrower Responsibility Agreement each semester.
Please see the chart below for the maximum number of items patrons can borrow at any given time.
| Item Type | Student Limit | Faculty & Staff Limit | Community Patron |
| General Collection, Oversized, Children's Collection | No Limit | No Limit | 5 |
| DVDs, Magazines, Journals | No Limit | No Limit | 5 |
| Mobile Devices | 1 of each type | 1 of each type | 0 |
| Course Reserves | 2 | No Limit | 0 |
| Textbooks and Reference Collection | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Patrons may return books to the circulation desk in the library during regular business hours or to one of our blue book drops after hours. One book drop is located on the sidewalk between the George L. Mathis Student Center and the Mary T. Barker Humanities Building, and another is located on the sidewalk in front of the Career Education Building.
Chromebooks, hotspots, and calculators must be returned to a library staff member at the front desk in the Library.
Patrons will be notified via email three times regarding any loans they have that are in danger of or have accrued fines. See the chart below for the automated notifications schedule.
| Day Sent | Name of Letter |
| The morning of the day before the due date | Courtesy Notice |
| The morning of the due date | Due Loans Letter |
| One week after the due date | Long Overdue Items |
| 30 days after the due date | Lost Item Bill |
*** If an item is more than 30 days past due, it will be marked as lost and the patron will be charged for the actual replacement cost of the item. Please see the Fines & Fees tab for additional information.
Late fees are accrued at a rate of $0.25 per day per item for all items except mobile devices, for which the late fee is $1 a day.
Late fees begin to accrue 5 days after the due date for all items except mobile devices and items on Reserve. There is no grace period for these items. Fines are not charged for days the library is closed or during school breaks. The amount levied for all items except mobile devices and select Reserve materials will not exceed the price of replacement of the item and/or $10, whichever amount is less. Overdue fines for mobile devices will not exceed $40.
30 days overdue: If an item is more than 30 days overdue, it will be marked as lost and the borrower will be responsible for the cost of replacing the item. If a patron returns the item after the 30 days, he/she will pay a $10 late fee rather than the cost of replacement. Patrons can view any fines and fees owed by accessing their patron account information from the Primo (library catalog) home screen or by presenting their CSCC ID to the circulation desk staff and requesting their library account balance.
Library books are protected under the Tennessee Code Title 39-Section 14. The charge for lost or damaged books is based on the replacement price of the item and may include binding costs. Books that are out of print may also activate a replacement cost search fee. Damages to materials will be assessed on an item-by-item basis by library staff.
Charges for lost/damaged videotapes/DVDs are equal to the replacement price of the item. Video/DVD copies are assessed at $12.50 per item.