Cleveland State CC Library
Types of Articles
There are several different types of articles you will find when searching library databases.
Journals
Journal articles are written by scholars in an academic or professional field. An editorial board reviews articles to decide whether they should be published. Journal articles may cover very specific topics or narrow fields of research.
A subset of journals is referred to as "peer reviewed" which means that submissions are reviewed by a set of experts before publishing to ensure high quality, original research.
Examples of journals include Journal of Modern History, Science, Journal of Educational Psychology, and The American Journal of Nursing.
Since journals are published at periodic intervals, they are grouped in the category called "periodicals."
Use a Journal
- when doing scholarly research
- to find out what has been studied on your topic
Magazines
Magazines publish articles on topics of popular interest and current events. The articles are written by journalists and are for the general public.
Magazines, like journals and newspapers, are called "periodicals" because they are published at regular intervals throughout the year.
Use a Magazine
- to find information or opinions about popular culture
- to find up-to-date information about current events
- to find general articles written for people who are not necessarily specialists
Newspapers
Newspapers provide articles each day about current events and are a good source for local information.
Newspapers, like journals and magazines, are called "periodicals" because they are published regularly, or periodically.
Use a Newspaper
- to find current information about international, national and local events
- to find editorials, commentaries, expert or popular opinions
Print Periodicals:
Explore topics in print format to ease into the assignment process or for personnel interest. If you like History, we have the following: American History, History Today, Natural History, Tennessee Historical Quarterly, and Tennessee Historical Society Membership. These Print Magazines are located by the library computers.
Articles
Search for full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in the subject databases listed below. Click on the database link to get started!
- Academic OneFile (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowProvides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
- Ancestry.com This link opens in a new windowIn partnership with Ancestry.com, the Tennessee State Library and Archives is providing access to several important collections of Tennessee records, including death certificates from 1908-1958 and statewide birth records 1908-1912. Early birth and death records from three metropolitan cities of Tennessee -- Nashville, Knoxville and Chattanooga -- are also available.
- HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of genealogical and historical sources, with coverage dating back to the 1700s. Searches U.S. census records, full-text family and local history books, Freedman's Bank records and more.
- Humanities Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowHumanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Salem Press Reference Desk This link opens in a new windowIn-depth, analytical essays illuminating famous primary source documents from U.S. and world history, as well as biographies of notable historical figures and authors.
- The Tennessean (1812 - 2009)Digitized pages of The Tennessean (1812-2009) provide unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. Audience: Middle School, High School, College/Research, Public, Genealogy
- The Tennessean (2010-Present)*NEW RESOURCE* - Full color issues of The Tennessean newspaper with a seven day delay from publication. Provides Nashville and Middle Tennessee regional coverage.
- New York Times (1981 to present) This link opens in a new windowNational daily newspaper reporting on current events in the United States and around the world.